Product detail

Obernewtyn (Obernewtyn Chronicles #1)

Obernewtyn (Obernewtyn Chronicles #1)

Author: Isobelle Carmody
Series: The Obernewtyn chronicles
$22.99(AUD)  inc GST

In a world struggling back from the brink of apocalypse, life is harsh. But for Elspeth Gordie, born with enhanced mental abilities that would see her sterilised or burned if discovered, it is also dangerous.

Author description

Isobelle Carmody is Australia's most highly acclaimed author of fantasy titles for older readers. She began her first book, Obernewtyn, when she was fourteen and since then she has written some of our greatest works of fantasy. Whilst she is perhaps best known for the Obernewtyn Chronicles (now comprising six volumes), her novel The Gathering was joint winner of the 1993 Children's Literature Peace Prize and the 1994 CBC Book of the Year Award. Also, Greylands, was joint winner of the 1997 Aurealis Award for Excellence in Speculative Fiction - Young Adult Division, and was named a White Raven at the 1998 Bologna Children's Book Fair. She has written many short stories for both children and adults and her picture book The Wrong Thing, illustrated by Declan Lee. Isobelle's first book in a new series for younger readers, Kingdom of the Lost: The Red Wind was winner of the CBC 2011 - Younger Readers Award. Isobelle divides her time between Prague in the Czech Republic and her home on the Great Ocean Road in Australia.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780140178548
  • : Penguin Books Australia
  • : Penguin Books Australia
  • : May 1993
  • : 180mm X 111mm
  • : Australia
  • : December 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Re-issue
  • : en
  • : A823.3
  • : 264
  • : Fantasy & magical realism
  • : illustrations
  • : Isobelle Carmody
  • : Paperback